Kellieowen Hall – THEN and NOW

Kellieowen Hall, 1920-1940. (Kelley House Collection, Kelley House Photographs)

Kellieowen Hall, on the southwest corner of Lansing and Ukiah Streets in Mendocino, was originally built in 1887 by William H. Kelley as a skating rink and dance hall and was known as “Kaze Hall” in its early days. At that time, the Beacon called the 40’ x 90’ building “the largest hall in the county.”

Many different businesses occupied this building over the next 60 years including a saloon, poolroom, movie theater, candy shop, grocery store, restaurants, and the Girl Scouts’ Free Reading Room.

Kelley’s daughter, Mrs. Daisy MacCallum, remodeled the building in 1950 and renamed it Kellieowen (pronounced kelly-owen) Hall, a combination of Daisy’s own and her mother’s maiden names. The hall was then used as a community meeting place and the home of Mendocino’s community library for many years.

Kellieowen Hall, August 2021.

“Corners of the Mouth” opened here in 1975, before moving to its present location on Ukiah Street the following year. In 1976, Rosemary Henes took over the main space, remodeling it for her business, “Personal Expressions.” In 2021, the business in the main area is “The Study Club.”

Final weekend! “Quilted Iconic Buildings of Mendocino” – 26 iconic buildings, including the Temple of Kwan Tai, the Presbyterian Church, the MacCallum House, the Mendocino Hotel, and the Kelley House Water Tower, brought to life on 18” x 18” quilt squares by members of the Ocean Wave Quilters. The Museum is open 11am-3pm on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday.