A cheerful hearth on these chilly days! The Kelley House Museum recently repaired the kitchen fireplace and it’s back in action. Come by this Friday, Nov. 21 at 1pm and catch “Big Daddy” Marty Simpson’s Special Edition James Dean “East of Eden” Walking Tour, then warm yourself by the hearth at the house. A great start to the holidays at The Kelley House Museum!
Welcome to Kelley House Museum!
The Kelley House Museum is working with the Mendocino Volunteer Fire Department to repair the Kelley House Pond. The Fire Department will use the pond as a ready source of emergency firefighting water. Because of changes made to the town sewer system, the pond can no longer hold a steady water level. A new liner must be installed, and landscaping added to restore a natural appearance. All of this work will be expensive, and we need substantial community support to get it done. Please contribute now, by clicking the “Donate” button.
If you would prefer to use a credit card instead of PayPal, click the Donate button and follow the instructions under: Don’t have a Paypal account.
Kelley House Museum, Inc. is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization.
About the Kelley House Museum
The mission of the Kelley House Museum is to collect, preserve and share the rich history of the Mendocino Coast. Founded in 1972, Kelley House Museum, Inc. maintains a beautiful house museum and gardens, as well as the Mendocino Coast’s only museum-quality storage facility and staffed research office. Our research archives represent over 150 years of Mendocino coastal history. Collections include historic photo collections, local genealogical data, research documents and publications. Over 3000 entries of maps, documents, books, photographs, oral histories and artifacts from our collection are searchable through our site.
The Kelley House Museum is an historic house museum in the heart of Mendocino, California, a picturesque town of 1,000 people. The home was built in 1861 by William Kelly (sp), one of Mendocino’s founding fathers, and now contains 19th Century furniture. The ocean-view home sits on an acre of gardens, with a pond and three resident geese. William had the pond built and stocked so that the neighborhood children could fish.
Did You Know?
We offer Walking Tours of the Mendocino National Historic Preservation District. Tours leave from the Kelley House Museum every Saturday and Sunday at 11 am, and last for 1 1/2 hours.
This photograph was taken around 1958. It belonged to a collection of photographs from Dee Lemos, who taught English at Mendocino High School for many years. It is probably the Art Department at the High School but who are these fellows?