Making History Blog

Many of these articles have been published in the Mendocino Beacon’s Kelley House Calendar.

Lumber Company Barn Burns Down

Lumber Company Barn Burns Down
The Jerome B. Ford barn and Jersey cows east of Ford house on the bluff in Mendocino.  The Ford barn later became the Mendocino Lumber Co. barn. (Alice Earl Wilder, Alice Earl Wilder Collection, Kelley House Photographs) July 11, 1936 - One of Mendocino’s oldest landmarks, the Mendocino Lumber Company Barn, was destroyed in a fire. Located south of the intersection of Lansing Street and the Old Coast Road, this 70-year-old structure had originally been constructed by Jerome B. Ford and[... see full page]

Quilted Iconic Buildings of Mendocino

Quilted Iconic Buildings of Mendocino
You won’t want to miss the Kelley House Museum’s summer exhibit, “Quilted Iconic Buildings of Mendocino,” which runs July 2 – August 31. In an extraordinary display of history meets art, 26 iconic buildings are brought to life on quilt squares, including the Temple of Kwan Tai, the Presbyterian Church, the MacCallum House, the Mendocino Hotel, and the Kelley House Water Tower. Each building is colorfully rendered on 18” x 18” quilt squares by members of the Ocean Wave Quilters.[... see full page]

Mendocino Woodlands

Mendocino Woodlands
Cabin at Mendocino Woodlands Camp One built by the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC). Camp One is located on the former site of Boyle's logging camp near the mouth of the Northfork. (Kelley House Collection, Kelley House Photographs) July 7, 1945 - The three camps at Mendocino Woodlands were filled to capacity with 375 young people from the Bay Area enjoying outdoor life on Big River to the fullest extent. Each of the camps offered their campers unique opportunities to swim in[... see full page]

Orr's Hot Springs Resort

Orr's Hot Springs Resort
View of Orr’s Hot Springs on Comptche-Ukiah Road showing the lodge and grounds, c. 1920. (Emery Escola, Emery Escola Collection, Kelley House Photographs) July 6, 1921 - Daisy Kelley MacCallum, along with her brother Otis Kelley and his family, departed by auto for a stay at Orr’s Hot Springs Resort, about 14 miles northwest of Ukiah. The Kelley family had vacationed at the resort since well before the turn of the century, when their father, William H. Kelley, would spend weeks[... see full page]

Flag Raised for the Fourth - 1979

Flag Raised for the Fourth - 1979
1979 Flagpole Dedication at Kelley House. Left to Right: Aldine Gorman, Miles Paoli, James O'Donnell, Edna Jackson, Dora Doolittle. (Kelley House Collection, Kelley House Photographs) July 4, 1979 - The Kelley House Museum raised the flag on our flagpole for the first time. Excerpted from Mendocino Historical Review, Number 8, June, 1981. Written by Beth Stebbins. Barbara Carpenter, although quite ill for eight years, had talked about having a flagpole at Kelley House. She wanted to give us her father’s large 5’x8’ flag.[... see full page]

Masonic Lodge Planned

Masonic Lodge Planned
Masonic Hall, Mendocino, California c. 1920. (Emery Escola, Emery Escola Collection, Kelley House Photographs) July 3, 1865 - A group of Masons assembled to formulate plans for organizing a Lodge. They included: Erick Jensen Albertson, Silas B. Coombs, William Booth, Richard G. Coombs, Isaiah Stevens, F. B. Lowell, James Bush Rice, George R. Lowell, Albert T. Rodgers and George Canning Smith. The Mendocino Lodge, No. 179, was officially formed in October, 1865. This lodge is believed to be the oldest fraternal body[... see full page]